Expunge Felonies Committed by a Minor in North Carolina

NCGS § 15A-145.4.  Expunge nonviolent felonies for first offenders under 18

Any person who has been convicted of a “nonviolent felony,” and the offense was committed before they turned 18, may file for expungement of the conviction.  A “nonviolent felony” is any felony except for class A - G felony, a felony that includes assault as an essential element of the offense, a felony requiring sex offender registration, and certain other felonies.

  • When can I file this petition? A person must wait to file the expungement until the later of (1) four years after the date of the conviction or (2) the completion of any period of probation, active sentence, or post-release supervision.
  • Will other convictions affect me? A person must not have any other convictions (other than minor traffic violations).
  • Will a prior expungement affect me? No, a prior expungement will not prevent you from getting another expungement under this statute.
  • Are there additional filing requirements? Yes, the petitioner must have completed at least 100 hours of community service, and there are a few affidavits that must be filed with expungement petition.
  • Is there a filing fee? Yes, there is a $175 filing fee.

Questions?

Courthouse

Are you still not sure whether you qualify for an expungement? Do you have specific questions about your record you would like to discuss with a North Carolina attorney? Or are you ready to get started with the expungement process? Give us a call or send us a message today!

Menu